Why do so many people forget their password? (And how do I avoid becoming one of them?)

Ask Leo! by Leo A. Notenboom

Excerpt from this article:

In the nine years that I’ve been answering questions here at Ask Leo!, the single most common topic that I encounter is that of lost or forgotten passwords.

It’s been the number one topic since day one.

In the early years, questions relating to lost Hotmail passwords were so overwhelmingly frequent that it became an inside joke among my friends – I was the guy to see about Hotmail passwords.

In the years since, the spectrum has broadened to include whatever system is popular; most recently, it’s been Facebook .

Why are so many passwords forgotten? And what lessons can we take away to improve our own security, both online and off?

