Social media’s a trap, but I can’t bear to get out

'It would hardly be appropriate Joseph Cannataci to have an online account consisting of uploads of his morning #avotoast.'

Avocado on toast. Photograph: bonappetit.com

Excerpt from this article:

Increasingly, the technologically equipped world appears to be divided largely into two categories of people: those who are all over social media like the rash they just uploaded a photo of to Twitter, and those who choose not to use it. Then there’s the third, smaller category, to which I belong – the reluctant users, who signed up at the beginning with guileless enthusiasm and now bitterly regret that decision, wishing we belonged to the infinitely cooler (and probably happier) group of people who never bothered at all.

I know I’m not the only one with social media fatigue. It seems to be common amongst my age group – the “bridge” generation who came of age as the internet was taking off but can just about remember what life was like before it. Initially we did everything out in the open on Facebook – explicit conversations about what happened last night that anyone could eavesdrop on. Now, people only post major life events, and I only ever log on to check my messages or tell someone that their baby is nice. I use it even less than my dad, who is 57 and only ever seems to use his Facebook to post links to his profile about how poor Facebook’s privacy settings are.

This is the social media trap – I care about enough of the people on it to keep it going, however much I hate the thing itself.

