Why are British kids so unhappy? Two words: screen time

‘If we hadn’t filled our homes with smartphones and tablets and laptops and desktops, none of this would ever have happened.’

Excerpt from this article:

…New research by the charity Action For Children finds that a staggering one in four parents struggles to control their children’s screen use. We’re all in this together, it seems, which should be of some comfort.

…It’s time for some Victorian-style parenting, not least because we also have an 11-year-old, and I can’t be going through all this again. So last night we sat Fred down and laid down the law: from this Sunday, he’s to hand in his phone to us by 10.30pm on school nights – no discussion, no argument, just good old-fashioned “because I said so”. His response? “No way. That is so unfair. I’ve done nothing wrong! If you do this, I’ll just nick your Sim.” (Again, I’ll leave it to you to pepper that lot with profanities.)

Sure, you can blame the parents for this whole sorry mess (I know I do) – if we hadn’t filled our homes with smartphones and tablets and laptops and desktops and, if you really have more money than sense, Apple Watches, none of this would ever have happened. You can even blame society or the government – especially the government. But, really, it’s all Tim Berners-Lee’s fault for inventing this whole bloody web thing.

 

