A stolen photo of my family was used in a way I never imagined

Pictures of my kids were turned into memes by overzealous Scandal fans

Excerpt from this article:

I’d thought I’d seen it all. That was until a friend and die-hard Scandal fan direct messaged me a photo of my kids’ heads Photoshopped in with Olivia Pope and Fitzgerald Grant. She found it on a Scandal fan page and thought I should know.

…Like many bloggers, I take precautions to copyright my work, add some watermarks and disable right clicks. But sometimes it’s just not enough to deter a photo snatcher. Through the years, my photographs have popped up in interesting places. To name a few:

  •    A stock photo website
  •    A Facebook meme supporting gay marriage
  •    In examples of a poster “multiracial family”
  •    A church flier in South Carolina
  •    Stock Etsy birthday cards
  •    And most recently, that Scandal fan club site

…In all seriousness, it’s more than a little disconcerting. People ask how I am not losing my mind over this, and the truth is, I have. I’ve tracked down and contacted numerous websites and asked for my family’s photos to be removed. I’ve sent a dozen cease and desist letters. Most came down without a response. Some came down with a profuse apology.

