I’m a holiday Wi-Fi addict – and proud

Logging on while on holiday needn’t detract from your experience; in fact, it can help enrich it.

Excerpt from this article:

What do you do first on arriving at a hotel? Check out the pool? Or the view from the balcony? No. Apparently most of us now demand the Wi-Fi code and logon, with a massive 65% admitting to tuning in within seven minutes of arrival, according to a new survey. All I can say, as a frequent traveller, is, what took you so long?

Confession: I am an instinctive and habitual Wi-Fi user, the sort who mainlines Instagram and Twitter without much reflection on the implications for my own mental and physical health. Who cares?

Frankly, it would not surprise me if we start to hear of Wi-Fi-rage before long. Let’s call it Wi-Fury.

The underlying subtle implication of this survey, I reckon, is that this is wrong… To this I would reply: when is anyone fully there? What about the novel you are reading? The film you watched on the plane? Surely every experience is mangled and digested by a million different forces, not least those of memory. What difference can it make if I am connected to people around the globe in a new and different way than before?

 

