Fake girlfriend, revisited

Invisible girlfriend texts

Excerpt from this article:

While browsing Product Hunt, a great site that highlights new apps and ideas, I recently spotted an intriguing service called Invisible Girlfriend.

It promised me the chance to sign up and create my perfect girlfriend, and soon I’d start getting text messages from her so I could impress all of my friends.

“My cofounder had the idea for years,” said Kyle Tabor, the site’s chief executive, in an email.

“He mainly needed a fake girlfriend to get his parents off his back after he was divorced.”

It works like this. You pick from one of six broad personality types – because there are only six types of women in the world, you understand. Rejecting “saucy and sarcastic” I went with “lovingly nerdy”.

