Help! I’m getting emails meant for someone who has the same name as me.

Excerpt from this article:

I call this conundrum a case of digital misidentity… “I have a Gmail folder called Other Sarah Browns where I keep all of these,” one Sarah Brown told me. “By now I can easily identify the mail for the four main Sarah Browns (one in Oregon, one in Georgia, one in England, and one in Scotland), and I know so much about their lives it feels illegal. One of the OSBs makes a lot of poor decisions, like joining f–kbuddy.net at 2 a.m. but not understanding how to change her password. One OSB ordered $99.99 worth of pencils from Amazon. One ordered the same depressing thing from Dominos (Philly cheesesteak pizza) every night at 9 p.m.”

My Sarah Brown shares the “truly insane” messages on Twitter, as does Danielle Henderson, who gets notes for Danielle Hendersons in three countries, “everything from car maintenance notices (time to change your fluids!), Sephora receipts, school notices, and job application responses…

These messages can be a funny sort of reminder of how much we all have in common, how similar humans and their lives can be. Sure, we all order different things at Dominoes (“I love getting the Domino’s pizza order receipts from one of the Danielle Hendersons; homegirl really loves a fully loaded pie,” says Henderson) but maybe we’re more similar than we’d like to imagine. “Weirdly, one OSB had a baby the same week I did,” says Brown. “We both had a boy. Those were some weird emails to read in a sleep-deprived fugue. I was like, ‘Wait, do I have an Aunt Nancy?'”

…”It makes the world seem smaller in a good way,” says Henderson. “But it also freaks me out that someone could receive sensitive information about ME just because our parents were not terribly original, you know?”

